Skip to main content

Concorto Film Festival 2019 – The winners of the 18th edition

Young jury award: THE PASSAGE, by Kitao Sakurai, USA, 2018, Fiction, 22’

The young jury awards “The Passage”, by Kitao Sakurai, because it conveys the complexity of the contemporary society, with irony and uniqueness, giving to the pubic different levels of interpretation.

Young jury Special Mention: FEST, by Nikita Diakur, Germany, 2018, Animation, 7’30”
The young jury judged “Fest”, by Nikita Diakur, worthy of special mention thanks to the use of an avant-garde technique, that leads experimentation to an authorial identity.

Special Jury Award to the Second-Best Film: Take Me Please, by Olivér Hegyi, Hungary, 2018, Animation, 13’51”

In a competition with several strong examples of creatively bold animation, we recognise the achievement of a surprising and confident work marked by a kind of “perfect” imperfection. Combining a dark, sometimes even sick humour with a sense of genuine optimism and uplift, this film combines the coming-of-age and road-trip genres with imagination and wit. We feel it deserves much wider exposure than its has so far enjoyed. The award goes to: TAKE ME PLEASE, by Oliver Hegyi.

The Asino d’Oro (Golden Donkey) to the Best Film: COMMUNITY GARDENS (Kolektyviniai Sodai), by Vytautas Katkus, Lituania, 2019, Fiction, 15’
Proving that you don’t need V.R. technology to create an immersive and liberatingly open environment for the viewer, this film places us in a recognisable but enigmatic semi-rural space, populated by relatable but ambiguous characters. Showing a particularly striking flair with camera placement and movement, it works brilliantly within the limitations of the short-film format by carving out a distinctive, original aesthetic with genuinely haunting resonance. Our winner is: COMMUNITY GARDENS / KOLETKYVINIAI SODAI, by Vytautas Katkus.

Official Jury Special Mentions:

Gli Anni (The Years), by Sara Fgaier, Italy/France, 2018, Documentary, 20’

Mémorable, by Bruno Collet, France, 2019, Animation, 12’

Audience Award:
Mémorable, by Bruno Collet, France, 2019, Animation, 12’